Cinematic Convolutions: Old Truths and New Beginnings

Brandon-Laatsch-and-Freddie-Wong-use-Litepanels-Sola-ENG-Flight-kit

Its time for a confession.

When I started writing for this blog, I knew nothing about film.

Completely true. When I decided to write about film, I knew absolutely nothing about it. I just thought film was really cool and had seen some videos about cinematography and said screw it, let’s do it.

It began as just analysis. I was an English buff, I could analyze film just like I did books, I knew how to do that at least. But it became more than that.

I started to learn, to read and throw myself into the film world. I started researching the technical side of things: ADR, FOLEY, B-Roll and editing, learning angles and shots and different forms of composition and directing; I fell in love with it all.

But there was always a disconnect with what I was writing. I wrote almost exclusively about movies and I felt fine with that, but it wasn’t really what I connected to. Nothing wrong with movies, but I wasn’t pouring all of my passion into it.

And that’s when I ran into Rocket Jump.

Well, not really run into. I had always known about Freddie Wong, I watched his short action Youtube Videos when I was a lot younger, but it was now when I saw what he was able to do with it. He took his tiny little crew and over time made tiny little videos and grew and grew until finally growing into his own company.

And that’s what I realized that’s what I wanted to do. The way I shoot is super guerrilla, no script, no story boarding, just go out there and shoot. And that’s Freddie’s life, staying up to 4 am shooting and editing videos with friends which I is what I would love to do.

And that’s why I decided to start my own video production “group.” From here on out, after AP testing, I’ll be shooting videos every weekend and edit them and put them up here and on Youtube. I guarantee the videos will be rough, but honestly that’s what it takes to get better. I’ve got friends in and a whole bunch of ideas to do: comedy, action, horror, and mystery. I’m honestly terrified, I’ve never put myself out there like this, but I’m in it for the experience and my friends. The only thing I haven’t worked out is the name of my group, but I’m a writer, I’ll think of something, eventually….maybe.

Hopefully my first video will be next, next week! Hope to see you then!

-Corey

Leave a Reply

