Valentine’s Day: Love or Lies?

heart-13272334451w3
Photo ©2015 by George Hodan

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of every day’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love with a passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints, I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

Family Friend Poems

February 14th. A day of shaking, quivering passion for one’s significant other. A mist of flowery fragrance filled the air as fresh scarlet roses were cut and placed in bouquets decorated with ribbons, bows, and lace. Chocolates as sweet as honey and as bitter as heartbreak were placed in cardboard containers wrapped with velvet. Cupid’s arrow seemed to pierce the hearts of everyone this Valentine. However, for some, Valentine’s day is a day of capitalistic gains for the “poor suckers” in love.

Somehow, industry always manages to pervert holidays into days of profit. Flowers meant to be plucked personally are bought and sold for money. Chocolates and sweets meant to be created from scratch from the heart are bought processed and manufactured from cold, steel machines. This doesn’t just applies to Valentine’s day, the world of big business had extended it’s tentacles to Easter, Christmas, and even our  very own birthdays. Gifts are rarely handmade, and they are usually regarded as an obligation, a necessity, a requirement. These holidays, these days of celebration and joy, are desecrated by greed and the desire to profit.

Now I’m not hating on holidays or Valentine’s day just because I don’t have a girlfriend…wow that hurts when I actually type it all out, but realize that there are those who try to take advantage of others for their own gain, like big business, and leech off other people’s happiness. In order to avoid this, try and make a homemade gift from the heart for your significant other. My friend Orlando has some great advice on ways to give your lover an un forgettable and memorable experience.

Here are his posts:

https://8centpublishing.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/valentines-day-solution-guide-2/#more-225

https://8centpublishing.wordpress.com/2015/02/10/valentines-day-gift-solution-guide/#more-200

Leave a Reply

