Happy Birthday Dear Reader!

birthday-cake-candles

Happy birthday to you! It’s your special day- because every day is a reader’s birthday. Wouldn’t it be nice to think like that? Well for readers like me, a nice, juicy, thick paper back is equivalent is any video game, doll, or pony. Actually let’s be honest here, a pony is a thousand times better than an old, dusty, and stain-filled copy of Tale of Two Cities with it’s spine bent into impossible angles and it’s bindings ready to fall apart at a moment’s notice. However, I would take the book over the pony any day, and I’ll tell you why.

Have you ever smelled a book before? If you haven’t, try smelling one right now. I know it’s weird, and to be honest, you’re weird too for even considering what I said for even a second, but can you tell what the book is just by it’s scent? For example, an old classic would smell like your grandma’s furniture. A new book would smell like a new car. But that is just one scent out of five. Now, I’m not telling you to go ahead and literally taste the nearest paperback novel, and you’re welcome to try, but books have a sense of their own. They have their own sights, smells, sounds, taste, and feel to it, each literally and spiritually.

When reading a book, you’ve certainly may have imagined yourself inside the story, possibly talking and interacting with the characters. I admit, I’ve spent countless hours in the “realm of books” giving advice, fighting battles, and even falling in love with a character, and that’s weird, but weird is okay! Being immersed in a book means that you can see the cavalry, smell blood, hear the cries of war, taste metal, and feel the sword sliding between your ribs.

Perhaps after being dipped into that image of war, you’ve lost your appetite for the cake I’ve made for you reader. More for me! But after seeing my point of view on books, could you imagine why I would take the broken, hand-me-down copy of Tale of Two Cities instead of the pony? I’ll give you some time to think about it as I eat your cake.

Well, have an answer now? I would take the book because the book is a universe in itself. A book, by the power of an author’s imagination, gives life to people, conflicts, and stories. A book has endless possibilities. A book is the world. Now tell me, which would you rather pick: the pony, or the world?

Leave a Reply

